top of page
  • Writer's pictureyashrbhora

BASKETBALL

Updated: Apr 21, 2020

1: Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

4: Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences

5: Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively


*Varsity Basketball Team - I'm in the bottom row, second from the left.


The heart was there, but it was only a matter of time before I realized that wasn’t enough. In fifth grade, your average fifth-grader decided to try getting the ball into the hoop. It seemed pretty far up there, but was surely within reach, right? I wasn’t the tallest, nor the most explosive, but I tried. Every day, over one summer, I did plyometrics, or intense explosive drills, because the internet baited it as ‘how to dunk in a month.’ The results were alarming. I could barely touch the net. At that point, I realized that I simply wasn’t physically gifted. Nonetheless, the reason I made all the teams I tried out for was my jump-shot. The jump-shot allows me to score points without having to dunk the basketball. I will always look forward to that ‘swish’ sound as it assures me I can jump-shot my way around things.

I've been playing basketball for a long-time and is perhaps the most active CAS experience I have accomplished. It has taught me a lot and will always be an important part of my childhood.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page