top of page
  • Writer's pictureyashrbhora

Running

1: Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

3: Demonstrate how to initiate and plan a CAS experience

4: Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences


In the past, I was a pretty slow runner. I always had to do the extra push-ups after losing a race in PE. As a result, my athletic potential felt resistance. I decided to start running in order to build my stamina and burn calories. I have been doing so for the past year and a half.


Initially, I ran a lot on treadmills as it would accurately allow me to track the specifics of my running capacity like the calories I burned and the distance I ran. Adjusting the setting would continuously allow me to push myself so I can reach higher speeds progressively. I usually do 'High-intensity Interval Training(HIIT)' where I run at my top speed for 90 seconds, rest for 60 seconds, and then repeat the cycle till I reach 15-20 minutes depending on my progression. HIIT is known to burn the most calories while pushing me past my limits.




After the school imposed a quarantine due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I felt that running around the neighborhood would prevent me would help me enjoy the outside while keeping me distant from others as I would be constantly running on the isolated streets. Additionally, the local gym was closed for obvious reasons so I could not access the treadmill.




Overall, I am confident that my stamina and top speed did increase but I have also learned the importance of stretching and rest.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page